• August 17, 2010

    SIGCOMM is actively soliciting site proposals for the 2012 conference. In keeping with past practice, the 2012 conference will be held at a site in Europe. Site proposals are short (one page); requirements are described here. Site proposals should be sent by email to the SIGCOMM Conference Coordinator, Jaudelice de Oliveira ( Proposals are due by October 31, 2010.

  • July 1, 2010

    Two papers have been awarded the SIGCOMM 2010 Test-of-Time Award. They are:

    1. Griffin, T. G. and Wilfong, G. 1999. An analysis of BGP convergence properties. SIGCOMM 1999.
    2. Faloutsos, M., Faloutsos, P., and Faloutsos, C. 1999. On power-law relationships of the Internet topology. SIGCOMM 1999.
  • July 1, 2010

    Dr. Radia Perlman of Intel Corporation has been awarded the 2010 SIGCOMM Award for her fundamental contributions to the Internet routing and bridging protocols that we all use and take for granted every day. Dr. Perlman will deliver the keynote address at the 2010 ACM SIGCOMM Conference to be held in New Delhi, August 30-September 3, 2010.

  • June 5, 2010

    Application deadline for travel grants to Sigcomm 2010 has been extended to 11:59pm PDT, June 12 2010.

    There are a number of travel grants available for travel to Sigcomm 2010, including student travel and geodiversity grants. See the Travel Grant page for details.

  • March 19, 2010

    The Sigcomm Executive Committee has selected Toronto as the host city for the Sigcomm 2011 Conference

    After review of the submitted proposals, the Executive Committee has selected Toronto as the venue for the annual Sigcomm conference in 2011. Jorg Liebeherr (University of Toronto) will be General Chair. Exact dates and other details will be announced shortly.

  • March 17, 2010

    Olivier Bonaventure is the new SIGCOMM Education Director

    The SIGCOMM EC is pleased to announce that we have appointed Olivier Bonaventure to the position of SIGCOMM Education Director.
    This position had been vacant since Jim Kurose stepped down some time ago. In Olivier, we are fortunate to have a person who brings a passion for
    education and a wealth of relevant experience to the role. Olivier has many years of teaching experience and has mentored several well-known names in the field. We welcome him to the SIGCOMM board and look forward to his leadership in this area. Olivier's contact details can be found here.

  • February 19, 2010

    The SIGCOMM award is bestowed annually for outstanding lifetime technical achievement in the fields of data and computer communications. Nominations for this year's award are due on or before March 31st, 2010. The nomination procedure is discussed in detail here:

    If you have any questions about the nominations process, please contact the Awards Chair, Ramesh Govindan (

  • December 5, 2009

    Each year, ACM SIGCOMM presents a "Rising Star" Award, recognizing a young researcher - an individual no older than 35 - who has made outstanding research contributions to the field of communication networks during this early part of his or her career.

    This year's awardee is Ratul Mahajan from Microsoft Research, in recognition of outstanding research contributions, early in his career, in network management and wireless communication, where his measurement driven approach has culminated in innovative and practically adopted systems.

  • December 5, 2009

    New ACM fellows include four SIGCOMM members: current SIGCOMM chair Bruce Davie, Jeffrey Dean, Farnam Jahanian, and John Chi-Shing Lui.

    The ACM Fellows Program was established by Council in 1993 to recognize and honor outstanding ACM members for their achievements in computer science and information technology and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM. The ACM Fellows serve as distinguished colleagues to whom the ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership as the world of information technology evolves.

    New ACM fellows include four SIGCOMM members:

    • Bruce Davie (Cisco) "For contributions to computer networking",
    • Jeffrey A. Dean (Google) "For contributions to the science and engineering of large-scale distributed computer systems",
    • Farnam Jahanian (Univ. Michigan) "For contributions to the dependability and security of networks and systems.", and
    • John Chi-Shing Lui (CUHK) "For contributions to stochastic analysis of parallel storage and communication systems."
  • November 3, 2009

    Mobile Computing and Communications Review (MC2R) is a quarterly publication of ACM SIGMOBILE. The SIGMOBILE Executive Committee (EC) solicits candidates for the position of Editor-in-Chief for MC2R. The current MC2R EIC, Srikanth Krishnamurthy, will complete his 2-year term at the end of 2009, and we are expecting a new candidate to take on this role for a 2-year period in 2010 through 2011.

    The EIC selection process will be run by the MC2R Selection Committee, which will make a recommendation(s) to the SIGMOBILE EC for final approval.

    Candidates should submit the following by email to

    a curriculum vitae or resume; and

    a position statement of not more than 2 pages, formatted in 10-point font.

    Applicants that are well suited to the position will be already known to the mobile research community, with an established track record of publication. Ideally, candidates should also have some experience in an editorial role, at least as the associate editor or department editor of a publication.

    The position statement will be an important part of the selection process. We are looking for candidates who have a vision for MC2R, something that will maintain and increase MC2R's relevance to the SIGMOBILE membership and will make it stand out among the wide range of computer science periodicals as something unique.

    This is an opportunity for a rising star in our community to establish MC2R as an invaluable resource for researchers in the field. Applications from motivated candidates are highly encouraged.

    Applications are due by December 4, 2009.

    Roy Want ACM SIGMOBILE Chair on behalf of the SIGMOBILE Executive Committee

Syndicate content