CoNEXT Conference

Conference on emerging Networking EXperiments and Technologies (CoNEXT)


The Conference on emerging Networking EXperiments and Technologies (CoNEXT) was created in 2005 by merging four pre-existing conferences MIPS, NGC, QofIS and ICQT, in order to achieve critical mass and global impact. The focus of CoNEXT is around innovative developments on networking technologies. CoNEXT was organized in cooperation with SIGCOMM in its two first editions, and has been Sponsored by ACM SIGCOMM ever since. CoNEXT is designed to work in synergy with other conferences sponsored by SIGCOMM, both in its organization, topics, focus and calendar.

Scope and Summary

Submission to CoNEXT is open and encouraged across a wide-ranging set of topics, including internet measurements and modelling, advanced protocols and services, networked games, multimedia services, routing, security traffic engineering, peer-to-peer and overlay networks, wireless and mobile networks, ad-hoc and sensors networks or autonomic and dependable communications are frequently found in its calls for papers. Attendance is usually around 150 participants, stimulating an atmosphere for constructive technical discussions. In previous years, CoNEXT has received over 120 submissions and selected around one in five of these for presentation at the Conference.

Steering Committee

  • Roch Guerin, Chair,  U. of Pennsylvania, USA
    Email: guerin [at] ee [dot] upenn [dot] edu
  • Mostafa Ammar, Georgia Tech, USA
  • Olivier Bonaventure, Universite catholique de Louvain, Belgium
  • Kenjiro Cho, IIJ Research Laboratory, Japan
  • Ernst Biersak, Eurecom, France
  • Max Ott, NICTA, Australia
  • Bruce Davie, Cisco Systems, USA (ex-officio as SIGCOMM Chair)

Past Members:

  • Arturo Azcorra, University Carlos III de Madrid, Spain (2005-2008)
  • Mark Crovella, Boston University (2007-2009)
  • Michel Diaz, LAAS-CNRS, France (2005-2006)
  • Christophe Diot, Thomson Research, France (2005-2006)
  • Serge Fdida, LIP6, France (2005-2009)
  • Jim Kurose, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, U.S.A. (2008)
  • Laurent Mathy, Lancaster University, UK (2005-2010)
  • Jennifer Rexford, AT&T Labs, U.S.A. (2005-2007)
  • Mikhail Smirnov, Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany (2005-2006)
  • Ioannis Stavrakakis, University of Athens, Greece (2005-2006)
  • Burkhard Stiller, University of Zurich and ETH Zurich, Switzerland (2005)
  • Giorgio Ventre, University of Napoli, Italy (2005-2007)

Upcoming Conference

  • CoNEXT'11 Tokyo, Japan, December 6-9 2011.
    Technical Program Chairs: Peter Key, Constantine Dovrolis
    General Chairs: Kenjiro Cho, Mark Crovella

Proposals for Hosting CoNEXT

Instructions on how to propose to host CoNEXT are available here.

Previous CoNEXT Conferences

Information about previous edditions of CoNEXT may be found online:

  • CoNEXT'10. Philadelphia, PA, USA, November 30 - December 3, 2010.
    Attendees: 136
    Papers: 147 submissions with 28 accepted (19%)
    Technical Program Chairs: Muriel Medard, Tim Griffin
    General Chairs: Jau de Oliveira, Max Ott.
  • CoNEXT'09. Rome, Italy, December 1-4, 2009
    Attendees: 152
    Papers: 170 submissions with 29 accepted (17%)
    Technical Program Chairs: Ernst Biersack, S. Keshav
    General Chairs: Jorg Liebeherr, Giorgio Ventre
  • CoNEXT'08. IMDEA Networks and U. Carlos III, Madrid, Madrid, Spain, December 2008
    Attendees: 154
    Papers: 166 submissions with 29 accepted (17%)
    Technical Program Chairs: Leandros Tassiulas, Keith Ross
    General Chairs: Arturo Azcorra, Gustavo de Veciana
  • CoNEXT'07, Columbia University, New York, NY, December 2007.
    Atendees: 155
    Papers: 138 submissions with 27 accepted (19%)
    Technical Program Chairs: Olivier Bonaventure, Roch Guerin.
    General Chairs: Jim Kurose, Henning Schulzrinne.
  • CoNEXT'06, ADETI, Lisbon, Portugal, December 2006.
    Attendees: 100
    Papers: 92 submissions with 19 accepted (20%)
    Technical Program Chairs: Christophe Diot, Mostafa Ammar.
    General Chairs: Carlos Sá da Costa, Rui Lopes, Ana Rita Leitão.
  • CoNEXT'05, ENSICA, Toulouse, France, October 2005
    Attendees: 100
    Papers: 110 submissions with 19 accepted (17%)
    Technical Program Chairs: Philippe Owezarski, Serge Fdida.
    General Chairs: Michele Díaz, Arturo Azcorra.

CoNEXT Awards