SIGCOMM is ACM's professional forum for discussing communications and computer networks.

SIGCOMM members include scientists, engineers, educators and students. They study all aspects of computer communications and networks: analysis, technical design, engineering, measurement and management. Our members are particularly interested in the systems engineering and architectural questions surrounding computer communication.

SIGCOMM supports a wide variety of activities in the field:
Professional meetings


Recognition and support for computer networking professionals

Resources for the community
More information about SIGCOMM: its membership, annual reports, and officers.

Discussions of interest to the SIGCOMM community are held on the SIGCOMM Blog.

If you are a computer networking professional, please make use of SIGCOMM, and consider joining ACM SIGCOMM: Join online here.

Recent News

  • September 29, 2011

    The Rising Star Award:

    Each year, ACM SIGCOMM will present a "Rising Star" Award, recognizing a young researcher - an individual no older than 35 - who has made outstanding research contributions to the field of communication networks during this early part of his or her career. Depth, impact, and novelty of the researcher's contributions will be key criteria upon which the Rising Star award committee will evaluate the nominees. Also of particular interest are strong research contributions made independently from the nominee's PhD advisor.

    The award will be presented at the annual ACM CoNEXT conference, where the award-winner will deliver a keynote address. Conference registration, travel, and lodging for the awardee will be paid by ACM SIGCOMM.

    A nominee must be 35 years of age or younger as of December 31 of the year in which the award would be made. Nominations must be sent to Bruce Maggs (bmm@cs.duke.edu) by November 1, 2011, 11:59pm EDT. Details at http://www.sigcomm.org/awards/sigcomm-rising-star-award

    The Dissertation Award:

    This annual award was created by SIGCOMM in 2011, and will recognize excellent thesis research by doctoral candidates in the field of computer networking and data communication. The SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Award winner and up to two runners-up will be recognized at the ACM SIGCOMM conference. The award winner will receive a plaque, a $1,500 honorarium and a complimentary registration to the following year’s ACM SIGCOMM Conference. The runners-up each will receive a plaque.

    Nominations for the award must include:

    1. A statement summarizing the candidate’s PhD thesis contributions and potential impact, and justification of the nomination (no more than two pages);
    2. The PhD thesis itself;
    3. An endorsement letter by the department chair;
    4. Three endorsement letters supporting the nomination including the significant PhD thesis contributions of the candidate. Each endorsement should be no longer than 500 words with clear specification of the nominee’s PhD thesis contributions and potential impact on the computer networking field;
    5. A concise statement (one sentence) of the PhD thesis contribution for which the award is being given. This statement will appear on the plaque and on the SIGCOMM website.

    Nominations must be sent to Bruce Maggs (bmm@cs.duke.edu) by October 31, 2011, 11:59pm EDT. Details at http://www.sigcomm.org/awards/dissertation

  • August 24, 2011

    The SIGCOMM EC is inviting potential hosts of the SIGCOMM 2013 Conference to submit proposals. Details of the proposal process are here. The proposals should be submitted to Jau de Oliveira, the Conference Co-ordinator, no later than October 31, 2011. The preference for 2013 is for proposals to come from outside of Europe and North America.

  • June 27, 2011

    After several years of diligent service, Ramesh Govindan has stepped down as Awards Chair, and Bruce Maggs has been appointed in his place. Bruce takes on the role of adminstering the substantial awards program offered by Sigcomm. This includes the annual SIGCOMM award and the newly created SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation award.

  • May 24, 2011

    Two papers have been awarded the SIGCOMM 2011 Test-of-Time
    Award. They are:

    1) "Chord: A Scalable Peer-to-peer Lookup Service for Internet
       Applications", Ion Stoica, Robert Morris, David Karger, M. Frans
       Kaashoek, Hari Balakrishnan, Proc. ACM SIGCOMM 2001
    2) "A Scalable Content-addressable Network", Sylvia Ratnasamy, Paul
       Francis, Mark Handley, Richard Karp, Scott Shenker, Proc. ACM
       SIGCOMM 2001.

Syndicate content